"The Right Stuff: Permatext 1 Minute Gasket" Silicone Review

I have been working in the automotive parts industry for a few years now. “The Right Stuff” is a RTV silicone that has only been out for a couple of years now. For automotive purposes, it is supposed to form a gasket in a very short time, not having to cure for 24 hours making repairs faster. So, after learning to sili my yoyos, I thought that this would be worth a try to see if I could play more often.

The silicone comes in either in a pressurized 3 oz can or 6 oz can, and comes in black or grey. It is quite expensive, $12 for a 3 oz can. But, it is about $4 for a 1.5 oz tube of standard RTV silicone. So, it really isn’t that much more per oz.

The pressurized makes it easy to fill the sili recess. I have had other non-flowable sili response fail because I could not see a bubble, and it can be difficult to keep constant pressure on the tube to prevent the bubble from forming. The pressurized can is easy to work: you just press the nozzle, and the can makes its own pressure, and forces the sili into the recesses quite well.

The Right Stuff forms a gasket in one minute, but it takes longer to fully cure. To use it as response, you need to wait for it to fully cure. This takes about 4 to 6 hours with The Right Stuff, instead of the regular 24 for flowable and standard RTV. I just love how fast it cures. I can sili my yoyo before I go to work, and it is ready when I come home. Or, I could sili it right before I go to bed, and it is ready the next day.