What tips are out there for a Fixed Axle beginner?

Well, technically, I’m a beginner at all of it but the Fixed Axle February stuff piqued my interest. I picked up a couple Butterflies to beat on and I’ve got a Legend Wing on the way. I feel like I’m picking up the tricks okay. Do you regular fixie players have some hints or recommendations that might be helpful to me? The Throws N’ Brews dude, Tom, recommended #10 string and helped me understand what that meant. There’s gotta be more cool little nuggets of knowledge out there. I’d love to learn more. Thanks!

1 Like

Once you get past the basics, start watching anything/everything fixed axle that Drew Tetz and Ed Haponik have done over the past couple of years. In addition to being outstanding and completely enjoyable humans, they have pushed the fixed axle game in ways that nobody could have predicted.

Then, just talk fixed axle with other folks. For whatever reason, the fixed/responsive community is full of friendly low-drama folks who are pretty willing to talk about yoyoing and give advice.

2 Likes

Change your string often.

The Fixed Axle Collective on FB is cool.

Butterflies are fun, and the Legend Wing is great!

1 Like

Learn about how to adjust Tension on a fixed axle, this is key and can not be overstated :slight_smile:

Drew’s “Learn These” tips/tutorials: http://yoyonews.com/2013/12/21/fixed-friday-learn/

And really, just look through the entire Fixed Friday tags on YoYo News: http://yoyonews.com/category/fixed-friday/ So much great info over there.

1 Like

Plus, you can adjust tension with cool tricks!

This is all great stuff. Thanks a bunch, guys. I’ve been changing string tension with sidewinders. I feel like I’m getting pretty good at them, lol.

I got my Legend Wing in, today, and its fun. I feel like the response is strange, though. When I look in there, it’s all ragged like they just left that section rough and sanded the rest. Is there a wear in period?