Amateur Yo-Yo Photography

I decided to do a little project, and photograph each of my yo-yos, to create a gallery. I thought it would be easier to have the pictures on hand if I ever want to use them for anything. I have no experience with photography, and I wanted to make some nice photos. I’ve been looking at Stickman and Jason Wong’s photos, and I was inspired to use some stuff around the house to get a yo-yo photo shoot going.

Well, first, I made myself a homemade light box for the yo-yos, trying to get a nice clean shot. I made one at home with a cardboard box, cut up T-shirt. I used some utility clamp lights, cost about $7 each at the hardware store, and florescent bulbs. I already had a desk lamp, so I used that as the third light. I had a fairly cheap digital camera that I bought two years ago, 8MP, Olympus, nothing special, a fairly basic compact camera.

Anyway, I took a chair and put the box on the chair, set the lights up around it, and started taking some pictures. I struggled with the white balance on the photos, because my camera does not have a custom white balance setting. I used the windows software, already on my laptop, and used the auto adjust feature, and that was it. I’m happy with the photos, compared to the ones I have been posting on the forum before, so it is a step up. I haven’t finished photographing all the throws, but this is the result:

Slideshow:

Let me know if you guys have any more ideas to get better results on the cheap. Mgiroux77 says the photos would be better without the string. I purposely left the string on as a sort of “trademark” to show that they are mine. The string is in most of the photos, black and double looped too. :wink:

11 Likes

I think they came out pretty nice. The string doesn’t detract IMO. Can you post a couple of pics of your light box here?

Excellent photos… I think the Blizzard collection looks great and the “Eh” REALLY looks impressive!!

1 Like