Shutter YoYo performance issues

I’m fairly new to yo-yoing but recently just got the Shutter yoyo which I am very pleased with. Aside from the yoyo I got some thin lube from yoyotricks.com. Right when I got the yoyo, which was about 2 days ago, I put like 2 drops of thin lube on it and it has been working great. The yoyo has been quite and smooth and performing as expected. Today it randomly started making a scratchy sound whenever I throw the yoyo down and its spin slows down dramatically when I do something simple like a double trapeze. I figured it just needed more lube already, which I though was pretty soon, but adding lube hasn’t done anything. Is there something I’m missing here to maintain my yoyo and to have it continue performing well. Before it was silent and smooth and now it is loud and difficult to perform lengthy tricks without its spin stopping.

Please help!

Is the bearing really dirty enough out of the box that cleaning it with mineral spirits is really needed to make a big difference? My method of cleaning the bearing has been using method 3. I just have been putting two drops of thin lube in the bearing and then spinning it a few times and putting back together and using it.

I don’t know how to put it on a pencil and spin it because the bearing does not fit around a pencil, so not sure how you do that? Also, the yoyo will go smooth after applying lube, but later in the day it gets scratchy. Does it require lube every couple hours??

2 drops of thin lube is generally too much. You could probably break it in, but it’ll DEFINITELY be responsive at first.

If you’ve done this a few times, you’ve built up so much oil in there that you are almost without a doubt in need of cleaning.

Bearings are super-high-volume commodity items. It’s not unheard of for them to come with a hint of debris directly from a factory. The smallest thing that could make a bearing responsive in a yoyoing application wouldn’t generally matter to their expected use case.