Question about centre weight and rim weight.

I know basically what play characteristics are caused by heavily rim weighting or lots of center weight.

What I want to know is this: does adding more center weight cancel out the feeling and benefits of rim weight, or does it simply add a different feel, and the benefits from whatever rim weight there is still stand?

I suppose what I’m trying to ask is whether they offset one another or not.

I’ve worded this fairly awkwardly, but I hope you understand what I mean.

I’m still learning the dynamics of a yoyo and its weight distribution, I’m guessing that it could cancel each other out in a sense and may make it feel more “uniform.” Playing a Shu-Ta vs the Shutter, the Shu-Ta features slightly more weight further out from the center and to me feels like it’s got a more powerful spin and more stable/forgiving. The Shutter has a lot of of center weight along with the rim weight which seems to cancel out some of the rim weight qualities, giving the yoyo a more of the “middle of the road” kind of feel.

Not sure how correct I am though, would be good to know these things in the event that I decide to design a yoyo (wishful thinking here).

I’ve been thinking about this type of thing as well. I imagined a bi-metal that was something like Stainless steel hub and center, Titanium walls, and then more stainless steel on the rims. It would look kinda like this i guess-

This is honestly a horrendously rough profile shot, but I’s basically kinda what I picture in my head. I have no idea if this would even work on a yoyo or not, but if it did it would make for some pretty interesting weight distribution, and most likely a truly unique feel on the string.

Edit: What about a chief that had stainless steel rims, and then the double ring was also ss. The rest of the body 7075? That would also achieve the kind of thing I’m talking about.

1 Like