Advice on how to get better

Hey everyone! I’ve been yoyoing pretty casually for maybe 7 years or so but stopped trying to learn new stuff really early on. I really want to step my game up but the reason why I stopped before is because most of the tricks I wanted to learn incorporated whips/lacerations/pops, which I was terrible at doing and got really discouraged.

As of right now I can do everything up until Advanced 2. I guess what I’m asking is how did everyone learn what they know so far? Is there another trick list that you recommend? How do you get good at whips/lacerations? Is there a preferred string type?

Any help would be much appreciated.

As what most or all people will say, practice practice and practice.

Of course there will be some tricks that take quite a bit longer to learn. What I noticed with lacerations and whips tend to be a bit easier when the string is pretty neutral on it’s twist. What I mean is, say a brand new string, the twists in it would allow a slack that doesn’t start to turn within itself and instead allows you to make a U shape. When it starts to get tight on it’s twist, the string tends to want to twist into itself like a braid or churro twist which doesn’t allow the string to maintain a controllable shape for whips and lacerations as well as slack string tricks. I do notice that new to pretty new (around 2 hours of casual play) has the string still fairly easy to do these tricks, once you see fraying and wear on the string, they’re still doable, but it tends to be a little more difficult to control the string.
As for string type, I’ve had experience with basic 100% cotton, slick 6 and 100% poly. I think the only difference is the break in time of when the string starts to give you less control.