Is the YoyoJam Patent dead?

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/t31.0-8/10537191_10152690733461182_1122462180090665034_o.jpg

With the impending release of the Space Cowboy, I am wondering if this means the death of the YoyoJam patent with respect to dense materials on the rim? This Space Cowboy looks like it violates what we all have been led to believe is the YoyoJam patent on these types of yo-yo’s. If this can be sold in the USA without a license, then there is nothing stopping the Yoyorecreation Triad and Draupnir from being sold as well.

It appears there is finally enough $ in this fight to challenge this interpretation of the very general patent.

Well, I am not a lawyer… But if I’m not mistaken, patents have time limits. I know that different classes of patents have different time limits, but maybe it has expired?

Does anybody have more knowledge about the time limits on patents and what kind of patent YYJ’s is?

If it’s actually expired now, or will be soon, then bring on the bi-metal rims!

I’m glad that companies are doing this.
Its not like YYJ is really doing much with the patent, so I hope that they don’t stop American bimetals from being released

The referenced patent regarding weighted yoyo rims is US Patent # 6206749, granted on 2001-03-27. The patent expires 20 years from its filing date, which was 2000-02-24, so it’s got another 5 1/2 years to go.

db

*edit, had munged the 2001 year in the original granted date above, fixed now! :slight_smile:

Whoa! You know your facts!

When one creates and works with Intellectual Property, one must understand the rules…and have serious access to the USPTO databases!

db

Thanks! Was hoping somebody would chime in with the full answer on that.