Manufacturing a Yo-Yo?

Hi, new poster here.

So, recently I decided I want to try to make a very small run of some all-metal yo-yos (6061 aluminum). I have plenty of experience working with CAD programs and have finished 3d-modeling my design. What I was wondering about is if anybody has suggestions for how I could have these manufactured. Right now as this is just a personal project I wanted to experiment with I couldn’t justify spending a ton of money (about $500 would be pushing it). I just don’t know how I could turn my CAD models in to real things. Should I look into getting a lathe (I have no experience with them but wouldn’t mind learning) or should I see if I could get a local shop to do the work for me?

Thanks,
Ian

I am interested in doing something similar actually. I haven’t made any designs yet but was wanting to get a lathe to try and make some of my own yoyos. but your budget of 500 wont get you a lathe, i priced them a while back. a 7 x 12 mini metal lathe would be 550-1000 dollars. the harbor freight ones have some bad reviews and those are around 550, from my research it would be better to spend the money and get a grizzly. But I have zero experience so I would wait for someone else to chime in.

You should probably let a local shop do it for you, unless you are extremely confident in your skills. Be warned, many shops will take your request for granted and not put as much focus on precision as they should. Most people do not understand how precise they have to machine the yoyo. Often they will become complacent, sometimes resulting in unplayable yoyos due to extreme vibe and the like.

I have news for you. Harbor, Grizzly, PM, Baleigh etc. all work off the same platform of machine. When life gives you lemons search the internet machine groups. There are buttloads of groups and ideas dedicated to your mentioned machine.

I will be buying a new South Bend myself. After viewing used machines it wasn’t something I was interested in for restoring.