Do I have to sacrifice response for a longer/stronger sleep

I’m a noob and I have a stock yyj classic. Using thick lube and a 50/50 blend string And I want to increase sleep time but I want it responsive to a tug. Do I have to sacrifice my response for a for a longer sleep time. And if I don’t what can i do?

Well you do need some response for a sleeping yoyo. You cant make a yoyo sleep without response. In your case, however, how long have you been throwing? Do you have a solid throw or are you still learning?

I (IMHO) have a pretty solid throw. Had a yoyo in high school but never got serious about it and then picked it up again about three or four weeks ago

Switching to 100% polly should help increase sleep times without drastically hurting your sleep times. Switching to a full size C bearing should increase sleep times as well and if it’s lubed it’ll maintain responsiveness.

Like sparhawk said, a well-lubed full-sized C bearing will probably do the trick.

Notable, though-- the Classic comes stock with O-ring response that sticks out just a wee bit into the gap. If you replace those with silicone pads, you should be able to recover a bit of sleep time, too.

(any other 19mm OD slim pad will also work I believe)

The full upgrade kit is here:

The upgrade kit all by itself will make the Classic UNresponsive. You’d have to add some thick lube to the bearing to make it come back on a tug.

Thanks for the advice. The further i get into string tricks the nicer a longer sleep time sounds more appealing but I haven’t quite got the hang of binds that and i like knowing when I tug it’ll return back to my hand.

I thought about the upgrade kit but the key word there was unresponsive made me shy away from it. But if thick lube will keep it fairly responsive I’ll give it a try. Thanks guys. Big help.

In general, lube (or lack of) will make yoyos more (or less) responsive regardless of other conditions.