What is spin top string made out of?

Okay, this is sort of dumb, but bear with me. I bought a Bearing King off the BST a little bit ago, but the terms of the sale didn’t include any string. This didn’t seem like too big a deal at the time, cause I figured I could just use yoyo string as a proxy, but so far I haven’t had a bit of luck in this effort. In fact, I haven’t even managed to get the thing to spin at all.

I’ve got a ton of different kinds of yoyo string at my disposal (every conceivable mix of nylon, poly, cotton, even kevlar), and also a spool of diabolo string on standby. But, being an absolute beginner at spin tops, I don’t have the slightest idea if trying any of these would be a waste of time or not. Obviously I plan on buying some proper spin top string when I can, but is there any other type of string I might be able to make do with in the meantime?

héhé as everybody, i ll say, the player choose what he prefer… :smiley:

You can take time and build them yourself, or easier You can buy string at the market to make your clothes dry :smiley: just have to get the good twist :smiley: they re something like 3mm diameters…

Ask NEff he is good for that. He ll tell you better than me

1 Like

Here’s how to make your own string:

Spin top string is generally twice as thick and twice as long as yo-yo string.  You can find descent rolls of string at hardware stores, even grocery stores sometimes.  Cotton is the best.  An important difference between yo-yo string and spin top string is that the proper length of string is determined by the size and weight of the top and the thickness of the string, and NOT the player’s height.  The string that comes with Bearing Kings is often too short.  It should be at least 64" long, some people even use 72" inch long string, but that is too long IMO.

1 Like

Try an ACE Hardware store.
Buy a ball of Multi-purpose twine, Twisted cotton #24 and give that a try for the BK.
I use 66" length.

2 Likes