The ultimate executive throw? Modified Sovereign for responsive play.

This is more for folks who have some extra cash and are new to the hobby. If you want an amazing responsive throw, keep reading… if you hate the idea of modifying limited edition throws, you may want to leave now.

So - Here’s the story. I like quality items. I am happy to pay extra for nicely machined items that do what I want and will last a lifetime. I’m also an engineer and a tinkerer/modder. I can’t leave things alone - I have to take them apart, learn about them, and improve them… or alt least (in this case) customize them to my liking.

There are a lot of folks like myself - older (and younger) that may not be as interested in learning all the tricks on the yo-yo world, but want something very high quality and just want it to do what they want… with the option to make mods later as they progress…

So - I took a gamble - and it has paid off.

I bought a Sovereign. I played a hunch that it would be an amazing throw. and it is - amazing feel and wonderful worksmanship.

But - it is a non - responsive throw… well, it WAS…

Heres what you have to do to make the Sovereign into a fully responsive throw. You see - I wanted a throw that would sleep for a LONG time and still come back with a tug… so I can learn the basic tricks, but still have full control until I learn a bind return.

1. Get a 1/2 width bearing. I used the one from my Yotojam classic.

Note - you WILL be modifying your yoyo - but in areas where it will not be seen… i.e. the axel and the axel hubs.
2) You need to file about 1/32 to 1/16 off of the hub length… as-is they will touch before the 1/2 size bearing seats in the halves… You just take a little at a time, checking along teh way, until the bearing will seat without gapping.