Werrd Hour – review

I picked up one of these guys recently and have to say that I initially was so excited due to the features that it has. 7075 aluminum and 60 diameter looks so promising.

On first throw this yoyo felt great. It was nimble and stable, it felt good in the hand and binds were tight. However, after an hour of play I started playing my other throws and noticed something very surprising. I went back to the hour and felt huge issues with sleep time.

The sleep time on this yoyo is very short! I have to bind up after maybe 10-20 seconds of comboing. I tried kk’s, CBC, spec and airg bearings and nothing helped. I even did a few timed sleeps with my best Kk and couldn’t get it to spin longer than 2:30 minutes. I didn’t really feel like filming for proof but I’d welcome someone to prove me wrong. My Kk wasn’t dry, it was lubed a while back, but still spins for way longer in other yoyos.

I’m suspicious about this yoyos design. I feel like rim weight is lacking and it’s heavily center weighted. There are grooves cut on the outer rims where fhz caps can fit, I would have rather they kept the aluminum in that area there for the added rim weight it would have retained.

Maybe it’s just the way Werrd wanted it, it does regen well and play smooth, but its not a great yoyo for long combos is my conclusion. I’ve owned a TFL in the past and was super excited for this model, but sadly I’ve already traded it off. This yo may be great for 3A due to price, it was YouTube 3A players that got me pumped on this model.

I welcome any feedback or suggestions for people who do own this model. And I’d like to hear if anyone is experiencing or noticing the same issue. I didn’t try fhz caps, so I don’t know if that helps or not.

Thanks

1 Like